Sustainability with Style

Hi everyone! My oh my, it’s been a while, right? Life has been a little busy, but I wouldn’t change it for a minute. I will say I have truly missed chatting with you fine folks! So, what better what to get back into blogging than sharing a brand that I truly love – prAna!

This day and age, there is a lot of information about the food we eat, the cars the drive, and the clothes we wear. Within all of that info, you will find both positive and negative research and opinions. One subject that is near to my heart is sustainable clothing.

Let me tell you why.

Back in 2005, I was a freshman in college and studying fashion. I was given a topic to write about and it truly changed my life forever. My topic was fur. I’m sure you can guess what gory, mind-blowing photos and articles I quickly stumbled upon once I started my research – To say that I was completely mortified is an understatement. 

What is sustainable clothing?

I’m sure you have heard of the term, right? We hear/see several terms everyday. Non-GMO, Gluten Free, Organic, Vegan…I could go on forever. But seriously, are you familiar with what sustainable clothing is? While I’m still learning about the movement, I have a healthy respect for what it’s about. Working with prAna has been such an eye opening adventure not because of their cute clothes (which, hello, they are!), but because of their powerful mission to encourage sustainable clothing.

prAna’s purpose is to, “Pursue sustainable, traceable, and responsible action to protect our environment and inspire the adventerous spirit.”

Watch this video about the sustainable clothing movement.
http://www.prana.com/life/sustainability/why-organic-cotton-matters

It truly was an honor to work with prAna! Keep reading to see how I styled two of their amazing products. Oh, and maybe you will find a discount code!

First up, the Ellis dress. I can not tell you how comfortable this dress is! Have you ever owned a piece of clothing that instantly makes you feel good? Well, this dress does just that. Not to mention, its fabric was properly sourced and provides a source of income for those you grew the crop. It’s funnel neck and kangaroo pouch make it unforgettable! Fashion that makes you feel good, both psychically and emotionally. Total win.

IMG_3652

IMG_3640
I kept the look simple with sneakers and simple stud earrings. Perfect for a day at the park!

IMG_3729IMG_3738IMG_3740

IMG_3746
This dress allowed me to move and groove with my two kiddos. Can’t ask for much more!

IMG_3748

My next look was more city-chic, versus casual. I paired the Uptown pant with a camp printed tee, denim jacket, suede hat, and peep toe booties. This pants are stretchy, soft, and allow you to dress them up or down. I especially love the high waist band…let’s be real, I eat! HA! 

IMG_3753

IMG_3761
Love the drawstring detail and cuffed bottom!

IMG_3770IMG_3795IMG_3802IMG_3809

prAna’s clothing are stylish, responsibly sourced, and can take you from day to night. Check them out at www.prana.com! Don’t forget to enter the code TMF17VP for 15% off of you total. When you purchase with prAna you’re guaranteeing yourself a quality product that is properly created and positively effects those across the globe! 

What’s your favorite sustainable item in your closet? 

XO

 

 

Leave a comment